Tuesday, October 03, 2006

Author: Jennifer Holm

Wow, Jennifer L. Holm is going to be at bookstore extraordinaire, Book People in Austin, TX, tomorrow, Wednesday morning.

Hmm...I'm thinking road trip! This family's motto is "Will drive for bookstores and authors" (as well as Faciemus Melius Prorimo Tempore.)

--------------------------------------


Penny from Heaven by Jennifer L. Holm, 2006

Penny from Heaven is one of the most comforting books I have enjoyed in a long time. The cover art echoes the time period of the 1950s. Penny is a beloved child. Her father is dead and no one will really explain the circumstances surrounding his death but she is surrounded by an extended family of grandparents, aunts and uncles who love her and care for her. She and her Uncle Dominic share a passion for the Brooklyn Dodgers. Her slightly deliquent cousin Frankie is her best friend. Her dog, Scarlett O'Hara is a un-house-broken-nightmare.

When her mother begins dating again, Penny's secure world begins to tilt. A terrible accident brings family secrets to light but then allows Penny and her mother to move on.

This is not a novel with sweeping action sequences. It is a warm and gentle read about family.

Fans of books like Pam Munoz Ryan's Esperanza Rising and Holm's earlier book, Our Only May Amelia will especially enjoy this read.



Jennifer Holm Website

4 comments:

Erin said...

I just reviewed this book yesterday. :)

It was just that - comforting.

Camille said...

I loved the idea that even though she has lost her dad, there is this big family that is there for her. Ultimately she has to understand what happened to her him but the family is still there to help. I think that is a nice message for anyone who reads the book.

Jen Robinson said...

So did you go to the signing? I'm in the middle of listening to the book on MP3 right now (but I've been a bit bogged down because I haven't been exercising, so even though I'm enjoying it, it's taking me a while to get through). Thanks for the review!

Anonymous said...

I like her writing