Wednesday, January 05, 2005

Whitbread Prize

The Whitbread Prize is one of Britain's top literary prizes and awards the "most enjoyable" books by writers based in the UK and Ireland. Reuters reports the 5 winners of the categories, Novel, First Novel, Biography, Children's Book and Poetry.

Eve Green by Susan Fletcher for First Novel
My Heart is My Own: The Life of Mary Queen of Scots by John Guy for Biography
Small Island by Andrea Levy for Novel award
Corpus by Michael Symmons Robert for Poetry
Not the End of the World by Geraldine McCaughrean for Children's Book (the Biblical tale of Noah's ark, featuring a young girl who sets into motion a chain of events that affects God's plan)

The grand prize, the Whitbread Book of the Year will be announced January 25 and will earn the author a 50,000 pound prize. Tbe panel of nine judges includes one name I've heard of: actor, Hugh Grant.

No comments: