Wednesday, February 16, 2005

The Chronicles of Narnia

A student is contemplating C.S. Lewis’s Narnia books and looking puzzled. “What is the “right” order to read these books?” he asks. I have had that question posed to me more times than I can count.
There is a nice piece at Pineapple Girl that brings together all aspects of the question.

As a "publicationist," I agree that the books should be read in the order they were published, NOT the chronological order they are marketed in now. Great discussion.

1. The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe (1950)
2. Prince Caspian (1951)
3. The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (1952)
4. The Silver Chair (1953)
5. The Horse and His Boy (1954)
6. The Magician's Nephew (1955)
7. The Last Battle (1956)

The Redwall books by Brian Jacques is another series where there is a chronologist and publicationist point of view. The author himself, recommends the books be read in order of publication as there are many "ah-hah" moments in the later stories where the reader has fun making a connection to the "future" of the tales.

No comments: